Skip to main content

Distinguished Terrapin Award

As the highest honor from the School of Public Health, the Distinguished Terrapin Award recognizes outstanding professional achievement, service to the school, cultivation of a culture of philanthropy and/or advancement of the Dean’s strategic priorities. 

Awardees have the opportunity to engage with the School of Public health community through speaking engagements and mentoring opportunities. 

Honorees will be recognized during the School of Public Health Annual Awards Ceremony on April 30, 2021 (taking place virtually).

Nominations for the 2021 class of Distinguished Terrapin Award are closed. 

Nomination Criteria

  • Nominees must be a part of the School of Public Health community (e.g. volunteer, alumnus/na, community partner, former faculty or staff member, etc.). They do not have to be an alumnus/a. Current employees are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be distinguished in their profession.
  • Nominees must reflect the core values of UMD and SPH.
  • Nominees must be able to attend the School of Public Health Annual Awards Ceremony on April 30, 2021 (taking place virtually).

Please review the School of Public Health's Strategic Plan for more information about our values and priorities. 

Self-nominations are welcome, and self-nominees are encouraged to provide supporting materials.

Nominations are reviewed by the School of Public Health’s Distinguished Terrapin Award Selection Committee comprised of the dean, assistant dean for development, two department chairs, a dean’s council member, and previous winners.

Up to four awardees are selected each year, one per category of volunteer, alumnus/na, community partner and former faculty or staff member. Though a person may only win once, nominations will carry over into the next year so long as nominees remain eligible.

Read about the 2020 Distinguished Terrapins.

Read about the 2019 Distinguished Terrapins.